All about us

John White is UV PØP and has been right from the start. First as a one man band when he began playing live in the early 1980's, when his ´band´ consisted of nothing more than himself plus a series of pre-recorded backing tapes. The arrangement proved both pragmatic and effective as there were no other band members to consider, no compromises, just a man and his Revox and, as Richard Strange once sagely observed: ´A Revox doesn´t answer back.´This line-up served him well - early concerts included supports with In The Nursery, Danse Society and the fledgling Pulp. His first single was Recorded and Produced by Cabaret Voltaire – it took him to support slots with hitherto unknown Culture Club, John Cooper Clarke and Nico plus an invite to perform in Holland and with it a live performance on Radio Hilversum’s Sunday afternoon show VPRO Spleen.
It was at this time that John was picked up by the legendary John Peel. He also joined Sheffield group Artery as guitarist for a short tour of Italy and a series of UK dates, leaving subsequently however to concentrate on his main passion UV PØP.
That was then!
A speedy journey through the 80s and songs – future favourites - emerged – tracks like “No Songs Tomorrow”, “Serious”,”Anyone For Me” and surprisingly – the uncompromising “Sleep Don’t Talk”. 
As John’s catalogue expanded – first with the critically acclaimed “No Songs Tomorrow” album and it’s follow up “Bendy Baby Man” so did his band – ditching the Revox for a clutch of fellow travellers.
More recordings were made – secret recordings that dwelt only in a whisper of existence. “The cellar demos”, “Live in Amsterdam” (from John’s performance on Radio Hilversum) along with the unreleased albums “Millbank Street Sessions” and “In Your Skin”.
Without even trying the tracks “Serious” and "Sleep Don't Talk" became favourites across Europe – with a multitude of dance mixes and cover versions from the likes of Escape With Romeo and Strafbomber.

Then all seemed quiet, but John was recording new tracks in his studio, and making plans with long time accomplice and drummer Tim Woad for a return to live work. A new century arrived and John reformed the band – brought in new members and started gigging again. “Serious” was re-recorded for the 21st century, an ep “Sea the Stars Social Club” recorded at Higher Rhythm Studio for Circuit Records and the first four UV PØP albums made available as downloads.

And it seems the world still remembers UV PØP with Brooklyn based US label Sacred Bones re-releasing “No Songs Tomorrow/Just A Game”, just in time for the 30th anniversary of it’s original release, to be followed with the album “No Songs Tomorrow” and German label, Genetic Music, re-releasing the album “Bendy Baby Man” together with 12” single “Anyone For Me” as a 2 CD set.  
Finally, with the release of this Anthology and a series of tours and festivals planned, everything is set for a complete and successful return for John and his band to where they belong – in the heart of Europe.

Current band line-up-

John White – guitar/vocals
Tony Nicholson – guitar
Mark Smith - bass/vocals
David Jones - drums
• Home • News • Lyrics • Discography • Gigography • Shop • podcast • photos • Guest book • Videos • Contact • Links •Home.htmlNews/News.htmlLyrics.htmlDiscography.htmlGigography.htmlShop.htmlPod_cast.htmlPhotos.html

All about us